We regret that, because of a loss of financial support, this website no longer provides current information. As a result, the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute cannot warrant the accuracy or adequacy of the information or materials on this site. If you are interested in supporting the work of the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, please contact us at (202) 687-0880. Thank you.

Medicaid is a program that provides health coverage to some low-income Montana residents. Medicaid covers families with children and pregnant women, medically needy individuals, the elderly, and people with disabilities, if state and federal guidelines are met. Legal residents who are not U.S. citizens may be eligible for Medicaid. Non-citizens who do not have immigration documents cannot enroll in Medicaid.

· For certain categories of people, eligibility for Medicaid is based on the amount of your household income.

In Montana you may be eligible for Medicaid if you are an infant, a child, pregnant, or a parent of a child and your family income meets the Medicaid income standards.

Income eligibility levels for these categories are described below. Your assets and some expenses also may be taken into account, so you should contact the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services or your County Office of Public Assistance for more information.

Low income persons eligible for Medicaid in Montana*

Category          Income eligibility (as percent of federal poverty level)

Child up to 5                   133%
Child 6-19                       100%
Non-working parents          33%
Working parent                 58%
Pregnant woman              150%
Medically needy          
     (Individual)                 73%
      (Couple)                    54%

* Eligibility information was compiled State Health Facts Online, the Kaiser Family Foundation and may have changed since this guide was published. Contact your state Medicaid program for the most up to date information and for other eligibility requirements that may apply.

To get an idea of how your income compares to the federal poverty level, use the federal poverty guideline issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for the year 2009:

Size of Family Unit                Poverty Guideline (annual income)
       1                                    $10,830
       2                                    $14,570
       3                                    $18,310

For larger families add $3,740 for each additional person.

So, for example, using this guideline, 200% of the federal poverty level for a family of 3 would be an annual income of $36,620, or a monthly income of $3,052.

Contact your state Medicaid program for the most up to date information and for other eligibility requirements that may apply.

· Parents who receive benefits under TANF (also known as Families Achieving Independence in Montana, or FAIM) should know that when you get a job and your TANF benefits end, you generally can stay on Medicaid for a 12-month transitional period.

In addition, your children may qualify for Medicaid if your family’s income meets certain income standards.

· Poor elderly or disabled people who get Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits can also qualify for Medicaid.

Disabled individuals should know that if your income earned from a job increases so that you no longer qualify for SSI, you may be able to continue your Medicaid coverage at least for a limited time.

· People who have high medical expenses may also qualify for Medicaid. You may qualify as medically needy if you are a child, parent of a dependent child, pregnant, elderly, or disabled and have high medical expenses that, when subtracted from your income, would make you eligible for Medicaid coverage. For example, people who have to pay a lot for prescription drugs, nursing home care, or other long term care services sometimes qualify as medically needy if they don’t have health insurance that covers these services.

· People who are age 65 or over and who have low incomes and are enrolled in Medicare may also qualify for help from Medicaid. Even though your income may be too high to qualify for Medicaid insurance coverage, there may be other ways Medicaid can help you.

If your household income is below the poverty level, Medicaid will pay your Medicare monthly premium and your Medicare deductibles and coinsurance. This is called the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) program.

If your household income is below 120% of the poverty level, Medicaid will pay for your monthly Medicare premiums only. This is called the Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) program.

Contact your County Office of Public Assistance for more information about other eligibility requirements.

· There may be other ways that Medicaid can help. To find out if you or other members of your family qualify for Medicaid, contact your County Office of Public Assistance. You can apply for Medicaid at the County Office of Public Assistance.

To obtain the locations and telephone number of sites near you call the Montana Medicaid Help Line at (800) 362-8312.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button