We regret that, because of a loss of financial support, this website no longer provides current information. As a result, the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute cannot warrant the accuracy or adequacy of the information or materials on this site. If you are interested in supporting the work of the Georgetown University Health Policy Institute, please contact us at (202) 687-0880. Thank you.

Medicaid is a program that provides health coverage to some low-income Georgia residents. Medicaid covers families with children and pregnant women, medically needy individuals, the elderly, and people with disabilities if state and federal guidelines are met. Legal residents who are not U.S. citizens may be eligible for Medicaid. Non-citizens who do not have immigration documents cannot enroll in Medicaid.

· For certain categories of people, eligibility for Medicaid is based on the amount of your household income.

In Georgia you may be eligible for Medicaid if you are an infant, a child, pregnant, a parent of a child, or medically needy and your family income meets the Medicaid income standards.

Income eligibility levels for these categories are described below. Your assets and some expenses also may be taken into account, so you should contact the Georgia Department of Community Health or your county Department of Family and Children Services for more information.

Low income persons eligible for Medicaid in Georgia*

Category           Income eligibility (as percent of federal poverty level)

Infant 0-1                      200%
Child 1-5                       133%
Child 6-19                     100%
Working Parent                56%
Non-Working Parent          29%
Pregnant                       200%
Medically Needy
         Individual               44%
         Couple                   39%

* Eligibility information was compiled from State Health Facts Online, the Kaiser Family Foundation, and may have changed since this guide was published. Contact your state Medicaid program for the most up to date information and for other eligibility requirements that may apply.

To get an idea of how your income compares to the federal poverty level, use the federal poverty guideline issued by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services for the year 2009:

Size of Family Unit                            Poverty Guideline (annual income)

      1                                                    $10,830
      2                                                    $14,570
      3                                                    $18,310

For larger families add $3,740 for each additional person

So, for example, using this guideline, 200% of the federal poverty level for a family of 3 would be an annual income of $36,620, or a monthly income of $3,052.

* Contact your state Medicaid program for the most up to date information and for other eligibility requirements that may apply.

· Parents who receive benefits under TANF should know that when you get a job and your TANF benefits end, you generally can stay on Medicaid for a 12-month transitional period.

In addition, your children may qualify for transitional Medicaid coverage for 12 months. Or, you may qualify for Medicaid yourself if your family’s income meets the Medicaid income standards.

· Very poor elderly or disabled people who get Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits can also qualify for Medicaid.

Disabled individuals should know that if your income earned from a job increases so that you no longer qualify for SSI, you may be able to continue your Medicaid coverage at least for a limited time.

· People who have high medical expenses may also qualify for Medicaid. You may qualify as medically needy if you are a child, parent of a dependent child, pregnant, elderly, or disabled and have high medical expenses that, when subtracted from you income, would make you eligible for Medicaid coverage. For example, people who have to pay a lot for prescription drugs, nursing home care, or other long term care services sometimes qualify as medically needy if they don’t have health insurance that covers these services.

· Retired or disabled people who have low incomes and are enrolled in Medicare may also qualify for help from Medicaid. Even though your income may be too high to qualify for Medicaid insurance coverage, there may be other ways Medicaid can help you.

If your household income is below the poverty level, Medicaid will pay your Medicare monthly premium and your Medicare deductibles and coinsurance. This is called the Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) program.

If your household income is below 120% of the poverty level, Medicaid will pay for your monthly Medicare premiums only. This is called the Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) program.

Contact your county’s Division of Family and Children’s Services for more information about other eligibility requirements.

· There may be other ways that Medicaid can help. To find out if you or other members of your family qualify for Medicaid, contact the Georgia Department of Human Services at (800) 869-1150 or visit them online at

AddThis Social Bookmark Button